Archive for Jackson County Elections

Mid-Term Primary Elections Tuesday

NorthCarolinaSealVoters across North Carolina have until 7:00 pm on Tuesday, May 6th, to cast their ballots. Though it’s a mid-term election there is plenty at stake particularly on a local level. In Jackson County alone, there are 6 Democratic candidates running for Sheriff.  Voters will also be choosing on school board candidates as well as N.C. House and Senate races.

Early voting began in April and ran through May 3rd. The 17 day one stop voting period was shortened to 10 days this election.

Currently, there are 26, 364 registered voters in Jackson County. On a state level mid-term primaries usually see 10-12% voter turn out.

Filing Date Moved for Forest Hills Due to Empty Seat

Current Forest Hills Mayor, Jim Wallace will not be running for re-election, and as of now no one has filed to replace Mayor Wallace. Forest Hills has enough candidates for all other open seats on the board to be filled. The three open Forest Hills town board seats have been filled by: Ron Mau, along with Clark Corwin and Carl Hooper. The filing deadline for Forest Hills Mayor has been extended from the original date of Friday, July 19th to Friday, July 26th. The extension of filing time is in line with state statutes due to the open seat with no candidate. In Sylva, board member Chris Matheson will be running against Jeremy Edmonds for the position of Sylva Mayor. Three candidates will run for two open board seats in Sylva: Danny Allen, Barbara Hamilton, and Mary Gelbaugh. Current Webster board member Jean Davenport has filed for Mayor of Webster. Six candidates will be running for five open seats, those candidates are: Danell Moses, Billie Jo Bryson, Allan Grant, Nick Breedlove, Tracy Rodes, and Janice Blanton. The town of Webster will be implementing staggered terms this year, meaning the three with the highest vote count will hold office for four years and the second highest two for two years each. In Dillsboro little will change this election, Mayor Mike Fitzgerald has filed for re-election. The five other current board members have also all filed for the five open seats on the board, those members are: Tim Parris, David Gates, David Jones, Beauford Riddle, and Jimmy Cabe.