Jackson CountyLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

October 18, 2017

Proposed High School Conference Realignment Plan For 2017

brazil_cup_2014-wallpaper-1920x1080The North Carolina High School Athletic Association has released third draft of the high school conference realignment plan. The Smoky Mountain High School Mustangs  would play in the Two A Conference B which would be comprised of all Two A Schools. The Association said their intention was to reduce the number of conferences in the state that are mixed size conferences. Conference B would include Smoky Mountain, Franklin, Pisgah, Brevard, East Henderson, and Hendersonville.  This would move West and North Henderson out of the WNCAC and into the Three A Conference A with A.C. Reynolds, Asheville, Enka, Erwin, North Buncombe, North Henderson, T.C. Roberson, Tuscola, and West Henderson. The Two A Conference A would be a mixed size conference with Madison, Mountain Heritage, and Owen being Two A schools and Avery County, Mitchel, and Polk County being One A schools.  With six Two A schools the competition for the top two finishers in the conference to go to the playoffs would be more intense. As it was in the current configuration especially in football Smoky Mountain could finish behind Franklin, and have a losing record but a game better than Brevard also with a losing record and end up playing the top seeded team from  Conference G (Western Highlands) which has been East Lincoln for several seasons.  In the playoffs the Mustangs would expect to meet  Bandy’s, East Lincoln, Lake Norman Charter, Lincolnton, Maiden, Newton Conover, North Lincoln, or West Lincoln. Conference G is a eight team conference made up of Two A schools.

IN THE SINGLE A Division: Conference A  includes Andrews, Blue Ridge, Cherokee, Hayesville, Highlands, Hiwassee Dam, Murphy, Nantahala, Robbinsville, Rosman,, Swain County, and Tri-County Early College.  The re-alignment was able to have Single A Conference E made up entirely of private or charter schools.  However some of the schools which have been a nemesis to mountain Single A schools are still playing in separate conferences including Bishop McGinnis and Winston Salem Prep in Conference C. Conference D  has Bessemer City and Cherryville along with Highland Tech, Lincoln Charter, Piedmont Community Charter, and Thomas Jefferson.

About The Author

Related posts