Jackson CountyLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

October 19, 2017


The Jackson County Branch of the NAACP is seeking nominations for Humanitarian of the Year awards.  In 2015 the Branch initiated a program of recognizing extraordinary service in the southwestern part of the state, honoring one individual and one organization whose work is done in one or more of the following counties: Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon or Swain.

“Our organization began with a mission to serve, and that mission continues today,” noted Branch President Enrique Gomez. “We know that one of the important threads that stitch together our community is the service of people and groups, whose mission is to make life better for others. It is important to proclaim our thanks publicly and that’s what the Humanitarian Awards program is designed to do.”

The Branch recognizes one individual and four individual finalists and one organization and two organizational finalists. It is currently seeking nominations. Nomination forms are available on line at www.jacksonncnaacp.org or by contacting the Branch at P.O. Box 788, Sylva, NC 28779. Nominations are due on September 1, 2017, and winners will be announced in October.

About The Author

Related posts