Jackson CountyLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

October 19, 2017

Local Municipalities Filing Opened July 7th

In Jackson County, filing for municipalities has opened at the Board of Elections Office. Seats up for election in Jackson County include all five aldermen and the mayor in Dillsboro; two commissioners and the mayor in Sylva; two council members and the mayor in Forest Hills; and three council members and the mayor in Webster.

The following have filed to date:


Village of Forrest Hills

Clark Corwin, Council Member

Jerry Rice, Council Member



Beaufort Riddle,Council Member

David Jones, Council Member

Tim Parris, Council Member

John Chinner, Council Member

David Gates, Council Member

James R. Cochran, Council Member


Town of Sylva

Lynda Sossomon, Mayor

Barbara Hamilton, Commissioner

Mary Kelley Gelbraugh, Commissioner

Danny Allen, Mayor

About The Author

Related posts