Jackson CountyLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

November 13, 2019

Calling All Vehicle Owners: Vehicle Registration Late Fee Goes Into Effect July

Beginning July 1, North Carolina vehicle owners must pay their annual vehicle registration renewals by the expiration date or face a late fee. The new fees were passed by the General Assembly last September and require one of three graduated late fees to be assessed on late registration renewals starting in July.

The late fees will be added beginning the first day of the month following the expiration date. Though citizens can still operate their vehicle up to 15 days after their registration has expired without being ticketed, they will be fined beginning the first day of the month after the registration expires.

If the registration has been expired for less than one month, a late fee of $15 will be charged. If the registration has been expired for one month or greater, but less than two months, a late fee of $20 will be charged.

A late fee of $25 will be charged for registrations that have been expired for two months or greater.

About The Author

Andy has worked in broadcasting around Western North Carolina over the last 17 years. He serves as the Operations Manager and Program Director for WRGC and WBHN. “I’ve been with the crew here at Five Forty Broadcasting since the idea of bringing the station back to Jackson County at 540-AM. I feel a personal connection with community radio and the area”. In the past, Andy has worked with iHeart Media and Sky Country Broadcasting. He resides in Haywood County.

Related posts