Jackson CountyLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

Burning Bans Now In Place

Confirming authorization due to hazardous forest fire conditions, I am using authority under the law (106-944 & 106-946) to cancel all burning permits and prohibit all open burning for the entire counties of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey. This ban on open burning is effective at 5 p.m. on Friday, April 3, 2020 and shall remain in effect until further notice. Distribute widely to the affected areas. The burn ban does not apply to fires started within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. Fires within that 100 feet must be confined within an enclosure from which burning material may not escape or within a protected area upon which a watch is being maintained and which is provided with adequate fire protection equipment. The local Fire Marshall has authority to issue a burn ban within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling.

Steven W, Troxler, Commissioner NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Andy Rogers

Andy has worked in broadcasting around Western North Carolina over the last 17 years. He serves as the Operations Manager and Program Director for WRGC and WBHN. “I’ve been with the crew here at Five Forty Broadcasting since the idea of bringing the station back to Jackson County at 540-AM. I feel a personal connection with community radio and the area”. In the past, Andy has worked with iHeart Media and Sky Country Broadcasting. He resides in Haywood County.
Back to top button